Meshing Problem

Hello!

I’m new to using SimScale and CAD, but I’m trying to use it for school to model the effects of straw grid formations on windbreaking. I keep running into an error, “One or more cell zones do not intersect the flow region or the intersection results in a non-solid body. Cell zones must overlap with the flow region.” and I would really appreciate if someone could help me out! I’ve been looking at other forum posts but I still can’t figure it out. It seems to maybe be an issue with my CAD, but I don’t even know where to start to fix it…

Here’s the link to my project: https://www.simscale.com/workbench/?pid=4395273073493840996&mi=spec%3A8053c377-a18c-4da7-a5e0-fe4f4b499977%2Cservice%3AMESHING%2Cstrategy%3A47&sh=50

Thanks so much!

Hey there!

I think you need to first delete the part representing the solid in your model. You can do this with the CAD Edit mode:

Then, I can see that you only have inlet velocity boundary condition. You will need a pressure outlet boundary condition, and also some type of wall on the other faces.

Please check of our tutorials for reference on external aerodynamics setup:

Hello! Thanks for the super quick response!

Do you mind further explaining what deleting the part representing the solid in the model means? I have the grid that I created in CAD, and then the larger external flow volume which I created while following the different tutorials on external aerodynamics. Which is the part representing the solid?

Also, yes thank you for the pointer on the pressure outlet and the other walls! I did miss that in the tutorial.

Thanks!

The solid part would be the grid, as the flow region is meant to contain the fluid.