SimScale CAE Forum

Meshing issues for f1 in schools

Hi! I am a student learning simscale for f1 in schools, and I am trying to setup my first simulation with my own car design, however every time i attempt to create a mesh, I receive the error ’ * One or more cell zones do not intersect the flow region or the intersection results in a non-solid body. Cell zones must overlap with the flow region.’.

If anyone knows a fix for this, it would be greatly appreciated :slight_smile:

here is the project: https://www.simscale.com/projects/18zsmith/f1_in_schools_3/

Hi and welcome to the forum!

What are you trying to achieve with the momentum source? The inlet speed should be enough to create the airflow.

Hi, it was because when I was trying to create mesh it said i needed an advanced condition for all but one object, and that seemed like the condition that fit best

That is not correct. Please follow the guidelines given in this tutorial:

1 Like

I have followed that tutorial already, with the exception of using the symmetry tool as I am processing the whole car in one go, is there anything I may have missed?

PS: thank you for your quick responses, it is very helpful :slight_smile:

You are welcome!

I invite you to analyse the tutorial deeper and apply the principles to your case, because I can see it is very different.

1 Like

Hi, I have followed the tutorial as closely as possible, the only changes being the wheels not rotating (as our model will be mostly fixed), and simulating the whole model instead of 1/2, however I now get the error β€˜The physics can not be taken into account as the simulation setup is not valid. Complete your simulation setup before generating the mesh in order to optimize the mesh for your application.’

If i diagnose the issue, it says β€˜A setup with 2 regions is being used in a single-region analysis type. Please make sure that all regions except for one have an Advanced Concept assigned to them.’