'KJ66 new inlet geometry for mesh' simulation project by ejegourel

I created a new simulation project called 'KJ66 new inlet geometry for mesh':

all in tittle

More of my public projects can be found here.

Awesome project @ejegourel!

How are things going? Are you trying to validate experimental data?

Let me know how things go! Cheers and all the best!

Jousef

I am a teacher in a French CPGE class, so my students are at the beginning of their engineer formation. I used to work with Solidworks and all its tools (CFD et FEA). For some reasons, I was looking for a solution able to work under Ubuntu. I tried Salome, Code Saturne and Code Aster, but it was not user friendly so not very good for my students. Then I found out about Onshape and Simscale.
So I wanted to test them in various projects. Until now I think Onshape is fine, but to fully replace SW I need FEA and CFD.
That’s why Simscale seems to be very interesting (and free for personal use, thanks !). With Simscale, incompressible flows are quite easy to set-up, but it seems harder with compressible flows.

So I’m not trying to validate some experimental data, I just want to learn the most about SimScale and compare it with this study, hoping to get the same results (only for the compressor part, not the combustion) :
http://cadflo.com/fileadmin/user_upload/Trebunskikh__-FloEFD_simulation_of_micro-turbine_engine.pdf

Thanks for your interest !
ejegourel

Hi @ejegourel!

I totally get what you are saying and user experience is definitely something SimScale is constantly working on, also to make simulation more accessible for people who struggle to work with software you mentioned. Regarding the project I think we can figure out how to optimize it and achieve some good results we can work with! I am tagging my esteemed colleagues and our experts (@PowerUsers_CFD) here who might give you some useful tips for your project - and I will also have a look at it for sure!