Help Selecting Correct Boundary Conditions

Hello! My name is Dawson. I am new to FEA software and I am doing a research project for a class. In my project, I have a core between two plates, and I am trying to essentially “crush” the core between the plates by applying a force to the surface of one plate and leaving the other one as a fixed support in a static mechanical analysis. Unfortunately, I cannot figure out how to do this while keeping both plates rigid (i.e. just crushing the core and not deforming either plate). I have a feeling I should be using the “remote force” boundary condition, but this is failing each time, and I don’t know what point I should pick as the remote point. I would really appreciate some help with this. Thank you in advance!

Hi @dawsonsthomas!

You can simply use fixed support for one side and apply a pressure or displacement for the other side. Just in case this is relevant for you, buckling is something that is not explicitly implemented to our platform but you can use a workaround using a nonlinear analysis. Let me know if you have any further questions!

Best,

Jousef

Thank you so much! I was aware that I could do these things, but my main problem is that I want the plate with the pressure to be non-deformable. Is this possible? I am trying to apply a specific pressure/force to the plate and measure its displacement.

Hi @dawsonsthomas!

What I could think of is to mesh the side you want to be undeformable very coarse and model it as rigid choosing it as a physical surface with a very high penalty coefficient. @rszoeke, would you agree to that approach or maybe any other ideas?

Cheers,

Jousef

Hi @dawsonsthomas, @jousefm,
the penalty coefficient has no influence on the stiffness of either contact partner, so increasing that will not help in this regard. Generally there are two approaches:

• actually model the parts as “very stiff” by just using a very high Young’s Modulus for the plate