'floor' simulation project by djamu

I created a new simulation project called 'floor':

floor

More of my public projects can be found here.

Hi @djamu,

With your CAD model you have uploaded, some of the volumes contain many faces which is likely the reason for meshing errors. Which CAD tool are you using?

Thanks for your reply,

I thought the same, this is an STL meshed design that I converted
  to volumes using Solidworks, I already had removed the threads on
  the bolt you're showing.
I'm a TD used to using meshed 3D programs ( Lightwave, Maya
  etc.), I'm very new to using Solidworks and the likes.

My main problem is that I don't seem to be able to convert curved
  faceted surfaces to curved solids, I'll try remove those bolt
  heads and see how far I get.
It's a pity though that I can't use meshes directly. A workaround
  would be that I could directly upload meshed objects and skip
  geometries altogether...

@djamu, mesh upload is in fact very possible:

When you click on ‘upload mesh’, you will find the available formats and can then upload your desired mesh.

Thanks for your prompt reply,
I found this already but none of my programs can convert to either UNV / OpenFaom / EGC / MED /CGNS
Are these formats using meshes in the same sense as STL does ? And why would an STL / PLY not be possible ?
( uploading as Mesh I mean )
I know I can upload STL as geometrie, but FEA analysis isn’t possible like that.

@djamu, STL files describe only the surface geometry of a three-dimensional object, thus volume meshing as you would want to do in this case is not possible since the file type does not contain the necessary information.

.stp or .step is the most recommended file type but conversion of it from an .STL doesn’t seem to present a good option either

Ok, makes sense, any hint as to what I could use to convert an STL ( or whatever ) into either UNV / OpenFaom / EGC / MED /CGNS formats ?