Dual Winglet High School Science Fair Project

Hello everyone! I am a high school student working on a science fair project about dual winglet designs for aircraft.

I have run a simulation for the winglet I designed. However, I am not sure if the results are accurate because I don’t really have any reference material to compare them to. These are the conditions I am trying to simulate:

• angle of attack of 15 degrees
  • speed of 15 m/s
  • chord length of 0.1m
  • kinematic viscosity of 1.426 x 10^-5 m^2/s
  • density of 1.246 kg/m^3

Could someone kindly help verify that I ran my simulation correctly? I am not sure about what the lift and drag coeffcients should look like, so it would be very helpful if someone could verify that my numbers are realistic.

Some other questions I have are:

1. In initial conditions, should the gauge pressure be set to 0 or 101.325 kPa? The simulation I ran had it set to 0 by default, but I am not sure about how that impacts the results.
  2. What is the significance of the initial velocity condition? In run 1, it was set to 0 m/s, and in run 2, I set it to the same values as the velocity inlet condition (15 m/s at an angle of attack of 15 degrees). Both runs resulted in identical lift and drag coefficients, so I am not sure what the purpose of the initial velocity condition is.
  3. In force plots, are lift and drag just shown as pressure forces in their respective directions?
  4. Is there a way to visualize the vortices at the wingtips? The particle trace feature only seems to show particle motion in two-dimensions, so it doesn’t display the vortices I am looking for.

I would greatly appreciate any help or advice. Thanks in advance!

Hello SayanS,
thanks for reaching out to us in the forum.

I’ll try to answer 1 by 1: