Cannot find the solution to error message - basic CFD analysis

The project I’m working on can be found here:

"FirstCFDflow_ContainmentTank "

I am a senior studying Mechanical Engineering at the U of Colorado. I am new to the SimScale program.

I have successfully been able to complete the tutorial that walks you through a CFD analysis of a pipe. However when I try to apply what I learned on my actual part file I am testing I get an ERROR when trying to simulate it. It tells me to check my solver log or my event log. My event log only says the project was prepared successfully and then it tells me that “An error occurred”. I have tried changing settings within timestep menu and I keep getting the same error.

What could I be doing wrong? Perhaps someone can open my part file and see if you are able to make it run? I have tried running by tweaking the time step settings over 10x and am not sure what else to try.

Very simple boundary constraints:
-Fully developed, incompressible Water flowing through device through those 4 inlet tubes.
-Inlet Flow rate at 500 000 in^3/sec
-Outlet Pressure at 0 kPa

Any suggestions or advice would be helpful,

Thank you

Hi @raulab22!

The geometry you have is not watertight in the first place for the mesh to be properly done. I assume you have the inlets as described and the outlet is not very clear to me because how would your flow be lead to the outlet? This is not quite clear to me. @Get_Barried & @vgon_alves , any hints from your side?

Best,

Jousef

1 Like

Hi @raulab22,