An entity name with more than 24 characters was found

Hello,

I am very new in SimScale and I have problems running my simulation. I want to calculate the local heat flow on a planetary surface, so I have started with a very simple geometry to carry out a first test and I have followed the Thermal Analysis Tutorial step by step.
This is my project: https://www.simscale.com/workbench/?pid=4411223043849453753#tab_0-0

Apparently, I imported and meshed the geometry successfully, but when I run the simulation I got this warning:
An entity name with more than 24 characters was found. This is not allowed for the Code_Aster solver

Then, the simulation stops. I have also found this error in the Simulation Run Even Log:

groups edgeGroupOnGeoEdges_22810 and edgeGroupOnGeoEdges_22811 !
! have same twenty the first four characters, their name !
! short is thus edgeGroupOnGeoEdges_2281. !
! As it is not legitimate in the general case that two !
! groups with the initially different names are amalgamated,!
! computation stops.

Any help in resolving this issue would be greatly appreciated.
All the best,
Isa.

Hi Isa (@isaegea)!

Is the part you are using in STL format? What I can think of at the moment is changing the names inside a text editor to avoid this issue. I am not at a computer at the moment but I could try it later on and get back to you if that’s okay. In the meanwhile my colleague @rszoeke might give you additional information on the error.

All the best!

Jousef

Hi Jousef!

Thank you for your help!! I used IGES format, but I could change the format if STL is more appropriate.

All the best!
Isa.

Hi @isaegea,
the error happens because you have a rather large model with more than 10 000 edges,
so the automatically generated entity name "edgeGroupOnGeoEdges_22810"is longer than 24 characters, which the solver can’t handle.

There should actually be something in place to prevent that. We will investigate why it did not work in your case.