Am I thinking about this the right way?

I’ve spent a lot of time working through SimScale tutorials so I believe I’ve learned the basics but since this is my first attempt at a simulation completely from scratch I would be grateful if anyone would like to highlight flaws in my strategy and, hopefully, recommend a better approach!

My simulation runs end-to-end and can be found here.

Context
My use-case is a simple air speed sensor to be used in an open-flow setting. The sensor consists of a simple 3-bladed radial impeller which in real-life would pivot between two jewel bearings.

My simulation goal was to do a coarse parameter sweep to minimise starting air speed i.e. the air speed at which the impeller will overcome breakaway / static friction and start to turn.

My metric of interest therefore is moment about the rotation axis, with the goal to maximise it.

My secondary goal was to estimate the impeller’s ‘natural’ rotational speed as a function of design parameters.

Simulation Strategy

• Since this is a low-speed use case c.0.5 - 1m/s I opted for an incompressible fluid simulation.

• I am interested in moment as a function of design parameters, therefore I created 35 variants of the impeller design. In each variant I vary three parameters: impeller diameter, impeller height, curvature of the blades.

• The impellers are arrayed in the x - z plane with sufficient spacing between that the air-flow of each does not interfere. I did it this way to speed up the design parameter sweep.

• For each impeller variant I used a separate rotating MRF zone which I created using cylinders based on the impeller faces as per tutorials.

• A force and moment result is attached to each of the faces associated with the impeller variants (which I have set up as topological entity sets).